Ethan's Running Blog Running Blog at FastRunningBlog.Com http://ethanjpedersen.fastrunningblog.com/ Tue, 28 Jan 2020 10:53:14 FeedCreator 1.7.2 Thu, Jan 09, 2020 http://ethanjpedersen.fastrunningblog.com/blog-01-09-2020.html <p>Ran up city creek park and out and around the capital with Grant. Had a&nbsp;pretty strong effort going up some of those hills. I&#39;m feeling pretty sore from yesterday.&nbsp;</p> Thu, 09 Jan 2020 07:00:00 Wed, Jan 08, 2020 http://ethanjpedersen.fastrunningblog.com/blog-01-08-2020.html <p>First day on the track in 2020. It was kind of rough because the track wasn&#39;t ploughed, and after running a few times the lane started to get slushed up. Beyond that, I was struggling with the pace and I think I was too aggressive with my goals for this workout this early in my training cycle. So I ended with 4x400 averaging 72, and then 2x200 at 36 and 33. So it was not a great day for feeling fast, but I am happy I got out there on the snowy track.&nbsp;</p> Wed, 08 Jan 2020 07:00:00 Tue, Jan 07, 2020 http://ethanjpedersen.fastrunningblog.com/blog-01-07-2020.html <p>Ran out to Liberty park and back, then some strides after. The strides feel good but I feel slow and I don&#39;t like that. Legs and hips feel good, so workout is greenlit for tomorrow. I think my lethargy is from the increasing mileage, my pitiful amount of sleep last night and the stress from starting classes again. Otherwise, I am healthy and very grateful about it.&nbsp;</p> Tue, 07 Jan 2020 07:00:00 Mon, Jan 06, 2020 http://ethanjpedersen.fastrunningblog.com/blog-01-06-2020.html <p>Recovery run after a long Sunday through the upper aves. There&#39;s something about the aves that make the miles feel so much longer than they actually are. The thing I told myself today was to&nbsp; be patient with myself-- I really wanted to keep running, but i&#39;ve already increased my mileage fairly quickly and now is not the time to keep piling them on. I did some strides afterwards too.&nbsp;</p> Mon, 06 Jan 2020 07:00:00 Sun, Jan 05, 2020 http://ethanjpedersen.fastrunningblog.com/blog-01-05-2020.html <p>My long run!! Longest run in probably 2+ months. Felt great for most of it, but the last few miles were a bit of a slog. Feeling tight from the hill reps, but healthy. A good 73 minutes of running. Hopefully in a few weeks 10 miles will feel much shorter!!</p> Sun, 05 Jan 2020 07:00:00 Sat, Jan 04, 2020 http://ethanjpedersen.fastrunningblog.com/blog-01-04-2020.html <p>Some recovery miles, felt pretty good after yesterday, although the soreness will probably hit harder tomorrow.&nbsp;</p> Sat, 04 Jan 2020 07:00:00 Fri, Jan 03, 2020 http://ethanjpedersen.fastrunningblog.com/blog-01-03-2020.html <p>Workout day baby. 8x30 second hill sprints. 75 seconds jogging between each rep, 3 minutes between rep 4 and 5. I tried to keep it&nbsp;nice and controlled, and I think I did a great job because after the last one I was pretty wiped out without being dead. On the warmup to the hill I ran into Nate and a few other CC kids, so that was nice. I wish I would&#39;ve had my other shoes to feel a little bit lighter for this, but it was fine.&nbsp;</p> Fri, 03 Jan 2020 07:00:00 Wed, Jan 01, 2020 http://ethanjpedersen.fastrunningblog.com/blog-01-01-2020.html <p>Got stuck in SLC all day, so I ran at like 10 at night when I got home. Totally wack, but thankfully it wasn&#39;t too cold although there was lots of ice out. Legs feeling great, I did strides at the end and those felt even better. Planning on some workouts later this week to get those legs working before the indoor meet next week. Not having too high of expectations for this one, just a season opener to get my body and mind back into focus.&nbsp;</p> Wed, 01 Jan 2020 07:00:00 Tue, Dec 31, 2019 http://ethanjpedersen.fastrunningblog.com/blog-12-31-2019.html <p>A nice average run to kick the week off, plus some strides at the end. Boy are my legs weak right now. I&#39;m ready to start a new year of training and chase after my goals this year. That said, I&#39;m very happy with what&nbsp;I have done this year.&nbsp;</p> Tue, 31 Dec 2019 07:00:00 Mon, Dec 30, 2019 http://ethanjpedersen.fastrunningblog.com/blog-12-30-2019.html <p>Some treadmill miles after a long car ride and a weekend of relaxation. Ready to hit some workouts this week.&nbsp;</p> Mon, 30 Dec 2019 07:00:00 Fri, Dec 27, 2019 http://ethanjpedersen.fastrunningblog.com/blog-12-27-2019.html <p>I let skiing be my main workout today, and then did 25 minutes easy on the treadmill. I&#39;m feeling stronger but my legs need some recovery time.&nbsp;</p> Fri, 27 Dec 2019 07:00:00 Thu, Dec 26, 2019 http://ethanjpedersen.fastrunningblog.com/blog-12-26-2019.html <p>Just a nice 40 minutes out. Weather is great! I need more sleep though, and my stomach is feeling kind of weird. Maybe from all the rich food yesterday.&nbsp;</p> Thu, 26 Dec 2019 07:00:00 Wed, Dec 25, 2019 http://ethanjpedersen.fastrunningblog.com/blog-12-25-2019.html <p>What a beautiful Christmas morning! Had to get out to work up an appetite for all the food.... Longest run from nearly the past two months. Pretty stoked about it. Fitness is coming in hot</p> Wed, 25 Dec 2019 07:00:00 Tue, Dec 24, 2019 http://ethanjpedersen.fastrunningblog.com/blog-12-24-2019.html <p>30 minutes with my brother, feeling light and ready to start some workouts soon.</p> Tue, 24 Dec 2019 07:00:00 Mon, Dec 23, 2019 http://ethanjpedersen.fastrunningblog.com/blog-12-23-2019.html <p>Feeling pretty tired today, but I got a decent treadmill run in. 5.4 in 40 minutes, going progressively down to 6:49 pace. Fitness is coming along nicely. I had the opportunity to nuke my legs in the hot baths and crystal hot springs today. Not sure if it was beneficial for my legs but I felt nice.&nbsp;</p> Mon, 23 Dec 2019 07:00:00 Sun, Dec 22, 2019 http://ethanjpedersen.fastrunningblog.com/blog-12-22-2019.html <p>My post ski treadmill run. Feeling good!</p> Sun, 22 Dec 2019 07:00:00 Sat, Dec 21, 2019 http://ethanjpedersen.fastrunningblog.com/blog-12-21-2019.html <p>Ran the my highland loop, and was pushing it on the hills. Managed to make it a perfect 30 minutes without any extensions/shortcuts. Honestly my legs didn&#39;t feel very strong today.&nbsp;</p> Sat, 21 Dec 2019 07:00:00 Fri, Dec 20, 2019 http://ethanjpedersen.fastrunningblog.com/blog-12-20-2019.html <p><!--StartFragment--><span style="color: rgb(0, 0, 0); font-family: &quot;Times New Roman&quot;; font-size: medium; font-style: normal; font-variant-ligatures: normal; font-variant-caps: normal; font-weight: 400; letter-spacing: normal; orphans: 2; text-align: start; text-indent: 0px; text-transform: none; white-space: normal; widows: 2; word-spacing: 0px; -webkit-text-stroke-width: 0px; text-decoration-style: initial; text-decoration-color: initial; display: inline !important; float: none;">Ran out to Corner Canyon&#39;s track and said hi to some old teammates. Ran a loop out through the neighborhoods east of the school then back home. Feeling lethargic, but the new shoes feel good. First post on here! Hoping to make this a strong habit.&nbsp;</span><!--EndFragment--></p> Fri, 20 Dec 2019 07:00:00 Thu, Dec 19, 2019 http://ethanjpedersen.fastrunningblog.com/blog-12-19-2019.html <p>About 30 minutes of treadmill running and then 30 minutes on the stationary bike. I just can&#39;t stand the air outside.&nbsp;</p> Thu, 19 Dec 2019 07:00:00 Wed, Dec 18, 2019 http://ethanjpedersen.fastrunningblog.com/blog-12-18-2019.html <p>Ran with Karli today, doing a similar loop as yesterday but much extended. Very smooth, Karli helps a lot with pacing-- went about 7 avg each mile. Starting to get my legs back.</p> Wed, 18 Dec 2019 07:00:00 Tue, Dec 17, 2019 http://ethanjpedersen.fastrunningblog.com/blog-12-17-2019.html <p>Finally caught up on sleep! Made the mistake of not dressing up warm enough on my run, I got cold quick.&nbsp; Did the summit loop but from my house.&nbsp;</p> Tue, 17 Dec 2019 07:00:00 Mon, Dec 16, 2019 http://ethanjpedersen.fastrunningblog.com/blog-12-16-2019.html <p>Not much sleep today. More treadmill miles, then about 30 minutes of stationary bike. I started watching Living with yourself on netflix...&nbsp; fun show. Some light core work too.&nbsp;</p> Mon, 16 Dec 2019 07:00:00 Sun, Dec 15, 2019 http://ethanjpedersen.fastrunningblog.com/blog-12-15-2019.html <p>Easy 20 minutes on the treadmill post skiing. Just to loosen up.</p> Sun, 15 Dec 2019 07:00:00